top of page

Beginners Guide To The 7 Chakras

The word chakra is derived from Sanskrit, which means “disk” or “wheel of light” and refers to the energy portals in your body. Each 'wheel' or 'disk' of spinning energy corresponds to a certain nerve bundle or major organ. Through chakra alignment, reiki and meditation, our focus is to allow each chakra to stay open, and balanced. If they become blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms that are related to that chakra.

There are a total of seven main chakras that run along your spine starting from your root and extending to your crown. Root Chakra: also referred to as the Muladhara, is located at the base of your spine providing you with a base or foundation for life. This anchors you to feel grounded, and secure during challenges - providing your stability and protection. It is represented by the colour red. Sacral Chakra: also referred to as the Svadhisthana, is located below your bellow button and is responsible for your compassion, sexual and creative energy. It is represented by the colour orange.

Solar Plexus Chakra: also referred to as the Manipura, is located in your stomach area and is responsible for confidence and self-esteem. It is represented by the colour yellow. Heart Chakra: also referred to as the Anahata, is located near your heart and in the centre of your chest and is responsible for connecting you to love and compassion. It is represented by the colour green.

Throat Chakra: also referred to as the Vishuddha, is located in your throat and is responsible for allowing you to communicate verbally. It is represented by the colour blue.

Third Eye Chakra: also referred to as the Ajna, is located an inch up from the middle of your eyes and is responsible for your strong gut instinct and connecting to your intuition. It is also linked to your imagination. It is represented by the colour indigo. Crown Chakra: also referred to as the Sahasrara, is located at at the top of your head and is responsible for your spiritual connection to yourself, others and the universe. It also is connected to your life’s purpose. It is represented by the colour violet or white.

Chakra’s work in partnership with our life force energy, otherwise known as Chi or Prana. When your chakras are in alignment, your physical and spiritual self are fully receptive to the energy of the universe. However, misaligned chakras create negative effects, harming your health and preventing you from fully connecting within.

What does it mean if your chakras are not aligned or blocked?

If a chakra is vibrating at a low frequency, you can have difficulty expressing the particular qualities associated with that chakra. It may also affect the parts of your body that are in close proximity of that chakra including your organs, bones, and joints. Low vibrations can cause emotional imbalances, and are usually caused by too much physical or mental stress.

Ways to Unblock Your Chakras:

  • A great way to promote balance is through yoga postures and breathing practices that promote energy flow throughout the body.

  • Meditating while practicing these techniques is vital to notice any tensions in the body and to release anything that does not serve you with every breath or action.

  • Aromatherapy approaches healing through the sense of smell, and in chakra alignment essential oils can prime your senses for the energy effect you desire, depending on the scents you select.

  • Positive thinking and positive affirmations are another method of helping your subconscious to allow healing within these chakras.

  • Crystals have healing properties that help to balance our body, mind and soul. Each healing property is specific to the stone and can help to release blockage in our chakras when worn/held.

  • Colour therapy and using colours in your food, clothes and every day activities in relation to the chakra you wish to strengthen is a great way to create a stronger connection with that chakra.

  • Working with a professional energy healer, such as a reiki practitioner is a powerful way to connect and release blockages you may be experiencing.

Chakra Meditation:

Chakra meditations can help to cleanse the energy in each chakra portal and release vibrations that are stuck or low. Start by dedicating one day in the week to a different chakra. Begin your day with your meditation, focusing your energy on the chakra you are intending to release. While your eyes are closed, imagine a portal in that part of your body opening, and allow anything that no longer serves you to leave. End your session by putting your hands on that chakra and stating affirmations for that portal. Follow up by holding/ wearing a gemstone that correlates to your chakra of the day in order to strengthen your overall aura.


bottom of page